Deadpool (USA, 2016)

7ajvdavwDirected by: Tim Miller. God help me, these superhero things are going to be the death of me. I used to rationalize it by saying that these movies appeal to the 14-year-old comic nerd still inside me, but that’s wearing thin as an excuse. And really, this? It looked like it was going to be the Family Guy of superhero movies, and I watched it anyway. Luckily, it was a lot better than the Family Guy of superhero movies. It was like the…It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia of superhero movies. It was a funny, irreverent parody of superhero movies that still pays lip service to genre expectations, like Guardians of the Galaxy with swears. And as much as it suits me to turn my nose up at certain aspects of frat-bro culture like this, I found the combination of Tim Miller’s sensibility and Ryan Reynolds’ delivery to be pretty funny most of the time. The big difference between expectation and result was, for me, the direction: the sense of humour is as crude and juvenile and teenaged-stunted-idiot-minded as I thought it would be, but it’s not really directed at anyone, it’s mostly at the superhero genre itself, and directed at Deadpool himself. Basically, it felt like good old harmless fun. And as irritating as I usually find Ryan Reynolds, here he’s pretty entertaining. Maybe it’s the fact that I can’t see his face? Not sure. Now, as far as the genre goes, what does Deadpool mean for superheroes in general? Looking at two basic facts, a few things can be clear. First, this is a parody of superhero conventions, which only would have worked once the audience is familiar with and invested in the originating genre. And also, it’s a parody of a decidedly adult nature, a superhero movie explicitly for 18+ (as in, I think this was rated R). Second, this movie made more money than God. So basic logic dictates that whatever went on here, Marvel Studios will be looking to duplicate it. So with my magic crystal ball, I see a future where there’s more Deadpool movies (obvs), and also more movies that poke fun at superhero conventions, while also replicating them, possibly with even more blood and sex and swears. So we have that to look forward to.

3 responses to “Deadpool (USA, 2016)

  1. Pingback: X-Men: Apocalypse (USA, 2016) | Offhand Reviews·

  2. Pingback: Ant-Man (USA, 2015) | Offhand Reviews·

  3. Pingback: List of Judgements, Anno Domini 2016 | Offhand Reviews·

Leave a Reply

