Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (UK, 2016)

sherlock_abominable_bride_poster_portraitCreated by: Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat. Whoops! THIS is pretty embarrassing…Yes, I’m an utter Sherlock Holmes nerd. I like to sneer and shit talk other bandwagon-y shit, but I’m kind of helpless when it comes to this particular thing. In my defence, I was reading this stuff when I was a kid, long before anyone ever dreamed of an era when there would be big-budget Hollywood movies, a hit BBC TV show, and a blood-curdling American remake, all at the same time. And don’t get me wrong, this show isn’t amazing or anything, but it’s a lot of dumb fun, and what more do you want from a TV show? I think this was a TV-movie one-off thing, but regardless. It’s a lot of fun to put these guys into bowler hats and horse-buggies and go off on a good old-tymey Victorian London adventure. That being said, this episode just kind of reaffirmed to me how utterly dispensable and fluffy this whole series is, but I guess I already knew that. This show is purely for people who are already invested in the mythology of Holmes, because if they’re not, then who cares about Moriarty and Reichenbach Falls and “elementary my dear Watson” and all the rest of it? But I am invested, and it’s great fun.

One response to “Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (UK, 2016)

  1. Pingback: List of Judgements, Anno Domini 2016 | Offhand Reviews·

Leave a Reply

