Game of Thrones, Season 6 (USA, 2016)

Game-of-Thrones-Season-6-Poster-1-630x933Created by: David Benioff and D.B. Weiss. As I always say, it’s kind of redundant to keep making a post on each season of a show, and now that I’ve tried it with Peep Show and Downton Abbey, I wish I’d just waited until the show is over and made one post for the whole thing, but here we are. This season was fuckin sick dude! Just kidding, but I mean, what am I supposed to say? I guess now that it’s off-book, people were disappointed with the first few episodes, that it was hugely different and inferior in quality to the other seasons, which were much more closely aligned with the source material…but I didn’t notice none of that shit. Being only familiar with the TV show, I am blissfully ignorant of all that stuff, and I was able to just sit back, turn my brain off, and enjoy this show for what it is. So that when the Hodor episode comes, and the huge, amazing, precedent-setting Battle of the Bastards comes at the end, it’s clear that book or no book, this show is going to keep getting great. In a way, now that they’ve finally got their ducks in a row, and the chess pieces are all set to do what they’ve kind of been hinting at doing for the entire show, and we have all of the embattled, beleaguered, and shat-upon women of the show really standing tall and in a position to duke it out amongst themselves for who’s going to be top dog, I’m definitely excited to see what’s going to happen, but I’m also a little let down. I mean, I can’t wait to see winter finally come, and the big battle between the White Walkers and all of the competing factions in Westeros, but I didn’t realize how much I really enjoyed all of the build-up, and it looks like now there’s only one more season (or likely, as everyone likes to do now, a “two-part” season, so two fucking seasons). It’s definitely time they wrap this show up—6 seasons in, to me, is getting pretty ripe for any TV show—but I’ll definitely miss it. By now, all of the objections to the show have been aired out, and those who are invested in it are going to watch it, and those who gave up on it are long gone. But I’ve been enjoying the show, and even though there’s a lot of blood and guts and bad shit towards women, the show is actually turning out to be some kind of subdued think-piece (the thinking part subdued, not the blood and guts) about women in society. For all the bad stuff that this show puts women through, it’s now looking like all of that bad shit was the set-up, the status quo, and that now the status quo is a show where the women are in command, getting their due, and perhaps getting to shape the world in their image. And for all the other stuff, that fact alone makes this show pretty remarkable and rare in mainstream TV culture. The sheer number of interesting, strong, nuanced leading roles for women in the show already puts it over the top. I guess Mad Men had a lot of stuff for women (did it though?), but between Danaerys and her dragons, Arya and her sword, Melisandre and her magic, Cersei and her sheer will, and like a dozen other strong women characters, this show is pretty awesome in that category.

One response to “Game of Thrones, Season 6 (USA, 2016)

  1. Pingback: List of Judgements, Anno Domini 2016 | Offhand Reviews·

Leave a Reply

