Game of Thrones, Season 2 (USA, 2012)

Game_of_Thrones_War_is_ComingCreated by: David Benioff and D. B. Weiss. I never know what to say once I get into a show. I’ll watch the show no matter what. It really does not matter what is up with the show, I’ll watch it. I’m hooked. That being said, this was a pretty good season. I love that this TV show lets me indulge in one of my favourite pastimes: Spot the British Star. In addition to the short-lived Sean Bean, as well as a regrettably walk-on cameo from the delightfully diabolical Roger Allam (the sleazy newscaster from V for Vendetta, and the arrogant colonial landlord in The Wind That Shakes the Barley), I was delighted that this season added the titanic Robert Pugh (Master and Commander and some later seasons of Prime Suspect) in a recurring role as Craster, Ralph Ineson (the asshole Finch from The Office) playing an asshole from the Iron Islands, and a major recurring role for the always excellent Liam Cunningham. I was actually really, really happy to see Liam Cunningham (and I’m even more pleased with every episode he doesn’t die), because to me, having a guy like him in the cast gives this show like a 30-50% increase in legitimacy. Seriously, just go watch Hunger or Harry Brown or frankly anything. Likewise Sean Bean with last season—the further I go, the more obvious it is that the shadow of Ned Stark hangs over everything, and it’s our collective memory of Sean Bean that helps us understand what motivates all the characters. Why would it be so desirable to have a Kingdom run by Ned Stark? Because everyone else is a psychopath. Sometimes, this show gets bogged down in the rape and blood, and I really do have to ask myself, as many others have before, why do I keep coming back to this awful place? And it’s the same reason why Arya Stark and Sansa Stark and Tyrion Lannister and all of the “good” people don’t just up and kill themselves—because there’s a possibility for good people to run things, there’s that tantalizingly faint glimmer of a promise that sometime, at the end, everything will be okay. But really, mostly, we’re all watching for the titties and the blood.

Leave a Reply

