Blitz (UK/USA, 2011)

Blitz-2011-movie-posterDirected by: Elliott Lester. Okay, let me just make this clear right now: this is not a good film. It’s actually kind of bad. I mean, we’ve seen this kind of thing before, it’s a well worn genre thing. Tough cop, emotionally flawed, politically incorrect, no respect for authority or rules or conventions or social niceties, but he’s ultimately a “good guy”, fighting for the greater good, but don’t get in his way cuz he don’t take no shit off no fools, hear. It’s Shaft, it’s Death Wish, it’s Lethal Weapon. The main new twist is that his square, rule abiding partner whom he eventually wins over to his own view—the view that extralegal violence is the only sure way to deal with Scumbags—is a gay guy. But it’s the 21st century, so the tough, macho protagonist is totally cool with it…y’know as long as he, y’know, keeps to himself and everything. BUT hey, did I mention it’s a Jason Statham movie? I know, I know, but I think I’m starting up on a bit of a Jason Statham kick, and I fully accept the consequences. I will have to sit through some bad dialogue, unneccesary action, undercooked plot and character development, and the only reward I get is seeing Statham in some car chases, foot chases, and maybe a roundhouse kick or two. Is he the young person’s Chuck Norris but without the irony? (Do I feel irony? I have a film degree, I damn well ought to feel ironic distance from this!)  I don’t know. It’s kind of satisfying, isn’t it? And what drew me to this, in my defense, was the loaded shared bill of Paddy Considine (Rob Gretton from 24 Hour Party People) and Aidan Gillen (Carcetti from The Wire). I feel like this might be the bottom of the barrel for Jason Statham action movies, so maybe it can only go up from here. I hope so, because overall this is a pretty crappy movie. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

