Monkey Business (USA, 1952)

monkey-business-movie-poster-1952-1020247808Directed by: Howard Hawks. What can one say about this movie? I wanted to see more Howard Hawks, and more Marilyn, and god knows I love Cary Grant. I can’t say I found this to be all that “funny” in the conventional sense. A lot of the humour comes from outmoded cultural assumptions and social roles, gender roles, views about youth, etc. But heck, it’s a bit of fun, so why  not? I’m going to have to take a look into Howard Hawks because his name comes up all the time as one of the great directors of the mid-20th century, and I’ve only seen a few of his films. There’s got to be more to him than this. I suppose I wasn’t paying too much attention to the camera angles and the editing choices, although at a lazy recollection, they don’t strike me as being particularly noteworthy. Ah well, this was a fun way to spend 90 minutes—but make no mistake, this is no Seven Year Itch.

Leave a Reply

